Day 2 of the US Windsurfing Nationals


Mateus Isaac tuning up on Day 2 of the US Windsurfing Nationals

Day 2 of the US Windsurfing Nationals was a bit of a light air affair for the 70+ competitors.  Of the 7 total divisions, the Open, Kona, and Race Board fleets were able to complete 3 additional races (bringing each of their series totals to 6 races), while the Foil, Formula, and Slalom divisions had an unexpected lay day.  Competitors saw breeze from nearly every direction yesterday on the lower Chesapeake Bay, with racing eventually occurring just off of the southern shore of the home of our hosts, Dave and Melissa Kashy.  The proximity of the race course made for excellent viewing and provided for some spectacular photos of the event.

3 “boat” testing on the foils on Day 2 of the US Windsurfing Nationals

Although the Foil division was unable to get a race in, that didn’t stop Mateus Isaac, Xavier Ferlet, and Justin Ahern from getting some time on the water.  The three foil competitors treated the on shore audience to a brief training session where Mateus made his foil jibes look second nature on his JP Hydrofoil board, NeilPryde Evo X sail, and F4 foil.  If it wasn’t clear enough already, these three competitors demonstrated to the fleet just how efficient the foils can be in maximizing your time on the water.  If you haven’t experienced the feeling of foiling yet, what’s the hold up!?

Max Robinson of the Toronto Windsurfing Club can’t get enough of his RS:One Convertible

Day 3 appears to be more of a light wind experience with the forecast showing an exciting final day of racing on Sunday with breeze in the low 20s.  Stay tuned to see just who will be crowned the US National Champion.

Top 3 in each division after 2 days of competition are:


  1. Matus Isaac – 3pts.
  2. Justin Ahern – 7pts.
  3. Xavier Ferlet – 9pts.

Open Class:

  1. Peter Roesch – 5pts.
  2. Nina Schweikardt – 9pts.
  3. Chris Coyne – 15pts.

Formula Class:

  1. Christophe Waerzeggers – 4pts.
  2. Ron Kern – 5pts.
  3. Alan Bernau – 21pts.


  1. Steve Gottlieb – 8pts.
  2. Barbara Belt – 14pts.
  3. Michael Parramore – 16pts.

Race Board:

  1. Ian Matthews – 8pts.
  2. Steven Uhthoff – 9pts.
  3. Guillaume Vernieres – 10pts.

Slalom Fleet Open:

  1. Mateus Isaac – 3pts.
  2. Tyson Poor – 4pts.
  3. Philip Soltysiak – 5pts.

Kona Slalom:

  1. Steve Gottlieb – 3pts.
  2. Andree Gauthier – 4pts.
  3. Barbara Belt – 5pts.

Event website and full results can be seen here.

RS:ONE ConvertibleRS:ONE Convertible Product Information

Click here for RS:ONE Convertible Product Line